Indy races - Reisverslag uit Gold Coast, Australië van karinboslooper - WaarBenJij.nu Indy races - Reisverslag uit Gold Coast, Australië van karinboslooper - WaarBenJij.nu

Indy races

Door: Webmaster

Blijf op de hoogte en volg

31 Oktober 2006 | Australië, Gold Coast

G’day!

Indy weekend is over... and we survived! Indy, a four days race event in Surfers Paradise, started last Thursday. Jules, Hattie and I were excited, as our house was on the track, which means five residence passes (= 5 free tickets for the whole weekend). We had a strategy plan to get as many people in as possible.. which was not as easy as we thought, but Plan B worked out really well. (= Parties every night :)
Indy can we summarized in five words: cars, non-stop noise, beer, junk food and half naked Indy women. Yes, it must be heaven for men. And most of the crowd was indeed male. I’ve never seen a line for the gents toilets that long before! For us girls it was less pleasant, with men cheering non-stop things like “Show me your ***” and after the first day we truly considered wearing a burka.
On Saturday I had tickets for seats (thanks again An!) and watched the races with Marieke. Although we couldn’t tell the difference between the cars and races (they all go fast), we had a really fun day!
And on Sunday, we did nothing.. all exhausted from three days and three nights Indy, we escaped from the ongoing noise of the car races. (Even in our house, we could not have a normal conversation). It was a fun weekend, but I do understand why locals go camping in the mountains during Indy.

And some other news..
I’m back at Uni again. I decided I’ve done enough research and I won’t continue the work in the lab (which I haven’t told my supervisors yet...). Those last weeks I’ll write my report and I have to prepare the oral presentation for the Health and Medical Conference in Brisbane end of Novembre. I’m excited (and nervous!).
So I’ll take it easy the last few weeks and enjoy summer! Which is not gonna be a problem, now I live one block from the beach :)
=> Ok, I wrote this bit before the meeting with my supervisors... change of plan, so back in the lab . I lost motivation at one point, but I’m back into it. More lab means better chance to publish the research and for me the chance to be first author of the article :)
But Decembre is gonna be holiday! Elize is coming over to Australia (yeeeeh!!!) and I’ll meet up with her in Byron Bay, spend a weekend there and show her the good places of the Gold Coast the week after. And of course we Dutchies will celebrate Sinterklaas. De pepernoten zijn al onderweg, haha. In the those final weeks I’ll also get the second part of the implant and two crowns, so by the time I go home it is all fixed (hopefully..).
Hattie, Jules and I have so much fun in our new place. We are like a little family with house dinners every night. We all love good food and cooking, so we’re making the best meals! And we party every weekend. Last weekend Dan’s birthday and we started salsa dancing on Sunday! Free lessons, and sooo much fun!! Tonight Halloween party at Ken and Tyler’s, for which we’re gonna dress up as Greek goddesses.
O, one more topic. Marieke is back to Holland... to get her boyfriend. So we said goodbye for now, but not for long, cause we’ll meet up in January in Holland. Yeee!! We have already two dates. One weekend stappen in Groningen en one weekend stappen in Eindhoven. Leuk leuk!!

Ok, I’ve got to go, to buy stuff for my outfit tonight.

We keep in touch!

XX

P.S. Who left those delicious brownies on my desk???

  • 31 Oktober 2006 - 07:29

    Mandy:

    Je kan het K, die presentatie!Wow ben jaloers op je leventje daar!Neem wat leuke Aussie boys mee!

  • 31 Oktober 2006 - 11:56

    Mam:

    Perpernoten e.a. snoepgoed voor Sinterklaas zijn inderdaad onderweg, hopelijk komt het allemaal op tijd aan, zodat jullie je schoen kunnen zetten.
    Ik zie dat je de weekenden voor volgend jaar al weer aan het plannen bent. Kan je hier nog even doorfeesten voor dat de co-schappen beginnen.
    P.S. Van mij mag het weer in het Nederlands hoor, dat leest wat gemakkelijker.
    Dikke kus van Mam

  • 31 Oktober 2006 - 18:26

    Loes:

    Wat zul je moeten omschakelen als je weer terug bent,het zal hier niet meer elk weekend feesten zijn,maar dit jaar zal niemand je meer af kunnen nemen.
    Liefs Loes

  • 31 Oktober 2006 - 19:56

    Pap:

    Begin voorzichtig maar weer eens wat in het nederlands te schrijven, anders moet je hier weer opnieuw integreren en dus naar de verplichte taalcursus :-)

    Liefs,
    Pap

  • 02 November 2006 - 10:21

    Marieke:

    Hoi Karin, hopelijk waren de brownies lekker. Hier is het kei koud in NL, dikke truien aan en ik bevries nog steeds. Geniet daar maar lekker van je laatste weken. En feest voor 2, want jammer dat ik er nu niet bij kan zijn.
    Tot over een paar weken.
    Groetjes,
    Marieke

  • 09 November 2006 - 15:32

    Janneke:

    Waow dat klinkt weer erg goed allemaal en op de foto's zie ik wel dat je het nog steeds super naar je zin hebt, en die bruine kleur daar ben ik jaloers op!!! Wat heb jij toch een lieve mama die aan al die hollandse lekkernijen denkt. Maak nog heel veel plezier en ik spreek je dinsdag. Tot dan
    Doei x

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Verslag uit: Australië, Gold Coast

Actief sinds 30 Nov. -0001
Verslag gelezen: 120
Totaal aantal bezoekers 64895

Voorgaande reizen:

08 Juli 2010 - 24 Augustus 2010

Zuid-Amerika

10 November 2008 - 14 Januari 2009

Nepal

Landen bezocht: